Coverart for item
The Resource That thing we call a heart, Sheba Karim

That thing we call a heart, Sheba Karim

Label
That thing we call a heart
Title
That thing we call a heart
Statement of responsibility
Sheba Karim
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "This young adult novel by Sheba Karim, author of Skunk Girl, is a funny and affecting coming-of-age story for fans of Jenny Han, Megan McCafferty, and Sara Farizan. Shabnam Qureshi is facing a summer of loneliness and boredom until she meets Jamie, who scores her a job at his aunt's pie shack. Shabnam quickly finds herself in love, while her former best friend, Farah, who Shabnam has begun to reconnect with, finds Jamie worrying. In her quest to figure out who she really is and what she really wants, Shabnam looks for help in an unexpected place--her family, and her father's beloved Urdu poetry. That Thing We Call a Heart is a funny and fresh story about the importance of love - in all its forms."--Amazon
  • High school has ended, and Shabnam Qureshi is facing a summer of loneliness and boredom. She's felt alienated from her gutsy best friend, Farah, ever since Farah started wearing the Muslim head scarf -- without even bothering to discuss it with Shabnam first. But no one else comes close to understanding her, especially not her parents. All Shabnam wants to do is get through the summer. Get to Penn. Begin anew. Not look back. That is, until she meets Jamie ... In her quest to figure out who she really is and what she really wants, Shabnam looks for help in an unexpected place -- her family
Cataloging source
BTCTA
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Karim, Sheba
Index
no index present
Literary form
novels
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Identity (Philosophical concept)
  • Muslims
  • Families
  • Best friends
  • Pakistani Americans
Target audience
adolescent
Label
That thing we call a heart, Sheba Karim
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
275 pages
Isbn
9780062445704
Lccn
2016949962
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • ocn957503923
  • 666627
  • (OCoLC)957503923
Label
That thing we call a heart, Sheba Karim
Publication
Copyright
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
275 pages
Isbn
9780062445704
Lccn
2016949962
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • ocn957503923
  • 666627
  • (OCoLC)957503923

Library Locations

    • Shadle BranchBorrow it
      W. 2111 Wellesley Ave., Spokane, WA, 99202, US
      47.7006273 -117.3781629
Processing Feedback ...