Coverart for item
The Resource All the ever afters : the untold story of Cinderella's stepmother, Danielle Teller

All the ever afters : the untold story of Cinderella's stepmother, Danielle Teller

Label
All the ever afters : the untold story of Cinderella's stepmother
Title
All the ever afters
Title remainder
the untold story of Cinderella's stepmother
Statement of responsibility
Danielle Teller
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "In the vein of Wicked, The Woodcutter, and Boy, Snow, Bird, a luminous reimagining of a classic tale, told from the perspective of Agnes, Cinderella's "evil" stepmother. We all know the story of Cinderella. Or do we? As rumors about the cruel upbringing of beautiful newlywed Princess Cinderella roil the kingdom, her stepmother, Agnes, who knows all too well about hardship, privately records the true story. A peasant born into serfdom, Agnes is separated from her family and forced into servitude as a laundress's apprentice when she is only ten years old. Using her wits and ingenuity, she escapes her tyrannical matron and makes her way toward a hopeful future. When teenaged Agnes is seduced by an older man and becomes pregnant, she is transformed by love for her child. Once again left penniless, Agnes has no choice but to return to servitude at the manor she thought she had left behind. Her new position is nursemaid to Ella, an otherworldly infant. She struggles to love the child who in time becomes her stepdaughter and, eventually, the celebrated princess who embodies everyone's unattainable fantasies. The story of their relationship reveals that nothing is what it seems, that beauty is not always desirable, and that love can take on many guises. Lyrically told, emotionally evocative, and brilliantly perceptive, All the Ever Afters explores the hidden complexities that lie beneath classic tales of good and evil, all the while showing us that how we confront adversity reveals a more profound, and ultimately more important, truth than the ideal of "happily ever after.""--
  • "A luminous retelling of the classic Cinderella tale, told from the perspective of Agnes, the "evil" step-mother"--
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Teller, Danielle
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Cinderella (Tale)
  • Stepmothers
Label
All the ever afters : the untold story of Cinderella's stepmother, Danielle Teller
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
376 pages
Isbn
9780062798206
Lccn
2017043121
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • on1001767692
  • 659162
  • (OCoLC)1001767692
Label
All the ever afters : the untold story of Cinderella's stepmother, Danielle Teller
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
376 pages
Isbn
9780062798206
Lccn
2017043121
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • on1001767692
  • 659162
  • (OCoLC)1001767692

Library Locations

    • Shadle BranchBorrow it
      W. 2111 Wellesley Ave., Spokane, WA, 99202, US
      47.7006273 -117.3781629
    • South Hill BranchBorrow it
      3324 South Perry St., Spokane, WA, 99203, US
      47.62407 -117.390642
Processing Feedback ...