The Resource A poet of the invisible world, Michael Golding

A poet of the invisible world, Michael Golding

Label
A poet of the invisible world
Title
A poet of the invisible world
Statement of responsibility
Michael Golding
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"A Poet of the Invisible World is the story of a boy born in thirteenth-century Persia with four ears instead of two. Orphaned as an infant, he's taken into a Sufi order, where he meets an assortment of dervishes and is placed upon a path towards spiritual awakening. He studies the Koran and the principles of Sufism. He meets his first love, a handsome youth named Vishpar. When marauders attack the lodge, however, he's swept off to a series of grueling adventures and an assortment of shifting roles: tea boy in the court of a Spanish sultan, shepherd on a barren farm in the mountains, sybarite in a bustling city on the north coast of Africa. As he stumbles from one painful experience to the next, he grows into manhood. And when fate leads him to a Sufi order perched high in the mountains, he's ready to begin the true work of spiritual development. Now the tests are more subtle: the animosity of a fellow Sufi who has dogged him since childhood, a love affair with an acolyte who's been brought under his wing. But each trial shatters another obstacle within--and leads him on toward transcendence. - A beautiful gift package, with french flaps and deckle edge - For readers of Herman Hesse's Siddhartha, Arundhati Roy's The God of Small Things, and Paolo Coelho"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Golding, Michael
Dewey number
813/.54
Index
no index present
Literary form
novels
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Orphans
  • Sufis
  • Iran
Label
A poet of the invisible world, Michael Golding
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
21 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
324 pages
Isbn
9781250071286
Lccn
2015021673
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • ocn915159404
  • (OCoLC)915159404
Label
A poet of the invisible world, Michael Golding
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
21 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
324 pages
Isbn
9781250071286
Lccn
2015021673
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • ocn915159404
  • (OCoLC)915159404

Library Locations

  • East Side BranchBorrow it
    524 South Stone St., Spokane, WA, 99202, US
    47.6514174 -117.3766966
  • Hillyard BranchBorrow it
    4005 North Cook St. Spokane, Spokane, WA, 99207, US
    47.6938586 -117.3735911
  • Indian Trail BranchBorrow it
    4909 West Barnes Rd., Spokane, WA, 99208, US
    47.740374 -117.482822
  • Shadle BranchBorrow it
    W. 2111 Wellesley Ave., Spokane, WA, 99202, US
    47.7006273 -117.3781629
  • South Hill BranchBorrow it
    3324 South Perry St., Spokane, WA, 99203, US
    47.62407 -117.390642
  • Spokane Public LibraryBorrow it
    906 West Main Avenue, Spokane, WA, 99201, US
    47.659594 -117.425554
Processing Feedback ...